Dolomites-UNESCO Foundation

On the 26th of June 2009 the exceptional natural beauty, the incomparable authenticity and geological uniqueness of the Dolomites were officially recognized. The “pale mountains” were included in the United Nations World Heritage List: due to their universal importance they need to be preserved as inheritance for the whole humanity.

Such a precious recognition is automatically connected with significant duties and responsibilities. In fact, the main aim of the Dolomites-UNESCO Foundation is to protect this alpine area and to be actively engaged in the support of its sustainable development.

The Dolomites-UNESCO Foundation was founded on 13th of May 2010 by the five provinces (Bolzano, Trento, Belluno, Udine and Pordenone), which are hosting the Dolomite site, with the purpose to maintain jointly the natural asset.

Moreover, one of the main tasks of the Foundation is to promote events which intend inform the population about the UNESCO world natural heritage site and safeguard the landscape. In this sense it is a real honour that the Dolomites-UNESCO Foundation decided to take under its patronage the event “ECOdolomites”, since it is commonly seen as a future-compliant and concrete project to solve the traffic problem in the Ladin valleys which result in severe pollution.

Stiftung Dolomiten UNESCO

Am 26. Juni 2009 wurde der Schönheit, Authentizität, geologischer sowie geomorphologischer Einzigartigkeit der Dolomiten angemessene Ehre zugesprochen. Die „bleichen Berge“ wurden in die Liste des UNESCO Weltnaturerbes eingetragen: sie sollten aufgrund ihrer universalen Bedeutung als Erbe der gesamten Menschheit erhalten bleiben.

Eine solch hohe Anerkennung bringt natürlich auch große Verpflichtungen und Verantwortungen mit sich: die Naturlandschaft zu schützen und sich für dessen nachhaltige Entwicklung zu engagieren, ist das zentrale Anliegen der „Stiftung Dolomiten UNESCO“.

Die Stiftung Dolomiten UNESCO wurde am 13. Mai 2010 von allen 5 Provinzen des Welterbe-Gebietes gegründet und verfolgt den Sinn, gemeinsam das Naturgut zu betreuen.

Zu den Aufgaben der Stiftung gehört unter anderem die Unterstützung von Veranstaltungen, welche über das UNESCO-Welterbe informieren und den Landschaftsschutz fördern wollen. Deshalb ist es eine besondere Ehre, dass die Stiftung Dolomiten UNESCO zusammen mit der Autonomen Provinz Bozen-Südtirol die Schirmherrschaft für die Veranstaltung „ECOdolomites“ übernommen hat. Man ist sich einig, dass dieses Event bedeutende Weichen zu setzen versucht, um Lösungen bzw. Alternativen für das Verkehrsproblem in den Dolomitentälern und dessen negative Naturbelastung zu finden.